Pamela R Wvk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Trying to get a refund from them is a joke!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My insurance company would not pay for a service, so I paid for it. Then they changed their mind because I argued with them. Trying to get my money back from Northwell is a joke. Their customer service is horrible. Their people are so stupid. They just do not care and are not helpful at all. They tell you one thing and do nothing. I keep calling and calling and calling. Then, after 4 or 5 calls, they tell me I have to call a different number! What?! You have been pretending to help me all this time and now I have to call another number. It is ridiculous. I am talking about over $1000, so I want my money. This is insane. I think I am done with Northwell Health for good.
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Run, do not walk to another health group!

Anonymous
map-marker New York, New York

Unprofessional Doctor and Staff

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Northwell Health - Unprofessional Doctor and Staff
Northwell Health - Unprofessional Doctor and Staff - Image 2
According to documents sent by Northwell Syosset hospital it is clear that a Dr Krauss performed my right knee replacement, he was NOT the doctor that was suppose to perform surgery, was suppose to be Dr Segal. First surgery in June of 2022 resulted in infection and immediate return to hospital emergency department. First revision on August 2, 2023 resulted in large tear in ligament, which documents show Dr Segal performed. Second revision due to tear was Sept 18, 2023, rendering me in a brace for eight weeks. Knee is still painful swollen and stiff and last MRI was 2-10-24, results on portal 2-13-24 to date no call from Dr Segal or his staff, which is ten days ago. I will try and attach few documents
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not use Dr Segal

Mark D Xtl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Reception

The doctor is great, but his front desk needs to realize that this is not The Gap when dealing with patients. These are people looking for medical assistance who mostly don't know the terminology or process to get what they need. Taking calls and dealing with patients requires compassion that is missing here. I wish I received as much attention as they give their coworkers.
View full review
Pros:
  • Doctor care
Cons:
  • Reception

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: I'll keep going because I trust the doctor, but the front line has to shape up or I will go elsewhere.

Anonymous
map-marker Huntington Station, New York

Total disappointment !!

Today , 4/5/2024 my wife retired after 44 years as nurse at Huntington Hospital. Her file is like a guide of How to achieve excellence . Simply put , her level of accomplishment sets a standard for nursing, excellency. Although her various co workers from 44 years of involvement all made heartfelt departing remarks including her entire department staff and IR staff manager all acknowledged her achievements and multiple outstanding efforts . There was still a big disappointment that regretfully led a solemn closure to her final day. The depressing closure is that no one , not a single person from the nursing office at Huntington Hospital , nor the corporate management at Northwell Health made an attempt to acknowledge her well deserved nursing excellence and achievements nor her commitment and dedication over 44 years of service . In 1957 at 7 months old, I had an emergency operation at the original Huntington hospital, brick building, which is now part of the management offices . After getting married in 1980, I always thought that it was great that my wife was part of that excellent hospital that helped save my life early and helped Deliver both my son and daughter into this world. Needless to say our lives, have been intertwined With Huntington Hospital. I can only say that its a shame that things have changed to the point that our Beloved community hospital no longer recognizes the people that have strived , in our case our entire lives, to make them a multi MAGNET recipient. Basically, you should be as ashamed as I now am for putting my faith in you. Youve become large and successful at the loss of your basic roots. Such a shame ! I ask you to think of your future last day of work after years of dedicated effort. How will you feel when your collective efforts were ignored and fell by the wayside ? Your Healthcare corporation may be succeeding, but youve got a lot of backpedaling to actually progress because youve obviously lost you way! its time to look in the mirror and recognize the people who put you where you are . Singed a disappointed Husband of a very Disappointed Retiree .
View full review
Bijan E Ubc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Bad experience

"Today, I encountered a frustrating experience when trying to reschedule my diabetes doctor appointment. Upon calling the office, I was directed to a call center where I spoke with a representative named Santino. He claimed to have spoken to the office secretary, Bev, and assured me my appointment would be rescheduled. However, upon calling the office directly, Bev was unaware of any such arrangement. This discrepancy raised concerns about the legitimacy of the call center representative. After reaching out to the Northwell Health call center and speaking with Marianne, it became apparent that the situation was not isolated. I have since escalated the issue to a manager for further investigation."
View full review

Preferred solution: Don’t let this happen to other people

Anonymous
map-marker Staten Island, New York

Discrimination against puerto ricans

ive applied for several jobs at northwell health hospital in staten island and im over qualified for the positions applied for and every single time i apply i get the same bs answer that there not moving forward with me for unknown reasons so i cant help but think its my last name so i applied again with the last name smith and guess what i got a response and a interview so what does that say about the hospital and staff at northwell health hospital in staten island new york there a bunch of racist people over there so im looking for a lawyer to sue them for discrimination so any lawyers out there want to take these racist bastards court and expose them contact me
View full review

User's recommendation: northwell hospital in staten island are racist

David R Abi

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Mecical insurance fraud

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
On 9/18/23 I had an X-Ray of my foot at Glen Cove hospital. In December I was shocked to receive a bill for $685. I was shocked because (1) it was a single x-ray of a foot and (2) they claimed it was not covered by my insurance. On 12/1/23 I called the Northwell Health phone number to get an itemized bill (I requested clearly and itemized bill) and to gain more details. I spoke to representative "Sonny" who was evasive and did not want to provide an itemized bill. I asked for a supervisor and was connected to "Mark". When I asked for an itemized bill, "Mark" hung up on me. I called back and after being on hold almost 45 minutes I got "Ikepo". I once again stated my skepticism that a single x-ray could be $685 and once again asked for an itemized bill. "Ikepo" acted professionally and stated I would get an itemized bill, BUT I NEVER GOT IT. Instead I was refered to the collection agency Arstrat. From my insurance company I found out that the maximum allowable was $380.92 and that my insurance company HAD paid them. I contact Arstrat on 1/23/24 after then send me a collection notice. The initial representative was hostile and placed me on hold when I informed them that I was disputing the amount, would demand validation and that I felt it was medical insurance fraud. I demanded a supervisor and was connected to "Jeaneta" (sp?). She was slightly more professional but also tried to make me jump through hoops re-stating all my information when they cleearly had it. To conclude, (1) I was over charged, (2) they have failed to credit my medical insurance payment and (3) put me in collections when I raised questions about this all.
View full review

Preferred solution: Remove me from wrongful collection efforts

User's recommendation: document everything and demand they provide receipts

Anonymous
map-marker New Rochelle, New York

I was abused by nurses and the hospital did nothing.

I was an a-fib patient and told and had a heart procedure that left me with a sore throat. The nurse who brought me my medication would not listen when I said I couldnt swallow the pills, she insisted that I had to and the pill got stuck in my throat. I complained and after that was denied care by the nurses for the rest of the night. They were obviously friends. I was told I couldnt have ice water because it was on another floor, I was denied Benadryl when I thought i was getting hives from the medication, I was told by a nurse that she had no clue when I asked if I was going to be getting the medication I had asked for. And when I went out to the desk to make myself clear about my needs they called Security. Security came with an employee named Angeline whom the hospital was unable to find after that and Angeline wouldnt listen to a thing I said. All she kept saying was that I couldnt scream at her nurses. While trying to defend myself against the nurses new defense attorney my heart rate went very high and so we went back to my room where she kept saying to everything I tried to say that I couldnt scream at the nurses. After I went home I wrote a complaint letter and the hospital wrote back and in its letter they restated everything I said in the following manner: Were sorry you didnt get your medication. We sorry this, were sorry that but you have no case. Apparently, everything I experienced was in line with their policy of quality patient care.
View full review

User's recommendation: if you have a complaint make it to the state.

Cleston Baa

Disappointed

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I use to love coming to this hospital but now you have to use a credit card to pay for your copayment its I think that is wrong cause everybody don't have credit cards to use or have bank accounts that is not fair
View full review
Daniel K Zgl

Phone system

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
1. The lady that did the phone system for EVERY Northwell location is ridiculously annoying. I have to listen to her voice go up and down (to make it sound pleasant?) And use way too many words to say 1 thing. It takes at least 1 minute to start to hear phone options because she goes on and on. 2. The phone system itself is awful. I've tried calling my Doctor's office 8 times this morning and it tells me I'm next in queue and then sends me to voicemail without me choosing to do so. Then I call the 800 number to find out what's going on and each time I call there, the voice system is so quiet that I can't hear the phone rep even if I use speakerphone at the highest volume with my ear next to the speaker. It's like the system is designed to *** people off. I have an urgent (not emergency) but very important call and nobody will take my call and I don't have time to wait for a callback at the end of the day
View full review

Preferred solution: Somebody to answer the phone

Barbara F Jhn

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Shirley, New York

Billing

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
First they send me a check for an overpayment, then I get a call from a collection agency for an unpaid bill that I never even received. Which is it? Can't speak to anyone, ridiculous hold times, complete lack of respect for anyone's time.
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Staten Island, New York

Pay bill

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
The woman I was in the phone was very professional. I give her 5 stars. The billing department 5 stars
View full review

User's recommendation: I recommend for future customers.

Ph W Fqb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Lake Success, New York

Complaint

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Northwell Health - Complaint
Genesis.. In 2014 I was diagnosed with multiple myeloma and had a successful stem cell transplant. From 2014-**** I was under the care of Dr. James Diolympio an Oncologist/Pain Management Specialist and although I had 40% bone loss in my right femur and a variety of other bone issues I suffered no pain anywhere. Life was good! In 2020 Dr. Diolympio retired, with no prior notice to myself. I called to make an appointment for my tri-yearly visit and was told he retired. I was frantic and Northwell assured me that my treatment would be placed in the hands of another pain management specialist and my treatment would continue as before. This was a blatant lie! I was not placed under the care of an Oncologist/Pain Management Specialist, rather I was placed in the care on a Neurologist/ Pain Management specialist . His name is Dr. Robert Duarte and he immediately refused to write prescriptions for the 2 drugs that had kept me in good health for 6 years. Admittedly this first meeting was contentious, He would only write my Methadone prescription if I saw an addiction specialist and tried to get off the lorazepam. I spent a full year tapering off the lorazepam ( now Diazepam) another deceptive move as I was placed on 4 mgs of diazepam which has an effective equivalent of .80mgs of lorazepam. I was taking 2 mgs daily of lorazepam which equals 10 mgs of Diazepam, not the 4mgs I was prescribed. This information was strangely not imparted to me. As the year progressed neuropathy started to appear and the as the diazepam level was reduced it finally exploded into a full blown neurological crisis. Pain every where , feet face back hands and anus. I was now in a living *** My whole life fell apart in 1 year. From a full functional person to a walking shell of a man. I pleaded with Northwell to help me and even wrote to the CEO and others on the board of directors and this fell on deaf ears. And after I had failed to get off the lorazepam the good doctor took it upon himself to reduce my pain meds by half .. he cut my daily methadone intake from 10mgs per day down to 5mgs per day.. without my consent, I was in effect at the mercy of a man who did not seemed concerned with my health or increased pain but rather with limiting his and Northwell healths liability for prescribing these 2 drugs together. Yes depending on the doses taken there is a chance of respiratory failure during sleep, but it was very unlikely in my case as I was only taking what is considered therapeutic doses of these two medications. This is 2023 and I havent slept more than 2 hours a stretch in almost a year, I wake up every 2 hours in pain and now havent the necessary means of dealing with it ..I live on aleve .. a severely reduced dose of methadone and the lorazepam. Constant and debilitating neuropathy. My life is now a living *** and I have Northwell and Dr. Duarte to thank for that .. They have opened a neuropathic door that I an frantically trying to close.. if thats still possible. So in effect when it comes to patient wellness that comes in a distant second to Corporate liability.And finally now I was told by Dr. Duartes PA George Skilikius when I questioned him as to why they were so *** bent on removing a proven neuropathic pain reliever ( methadone) from my drug regimen, at first he was evasive and refused to answer my question but finally when pressed he stated thats why you came to us in the first place .. I was shocked.. firstly I was placed there by Northwell to continue the successful protocol started by Dr. Diolympio, not to get off the methadone. That is an outrageous lie.!! But that type of patient treatment is typical by George and Dr Duarte . Lets see if my medical records supports that lie. I have received a copy of my medical records and am going through them with a fine tooth comb to prove that under Dr. Duartes care the quality of my life has plummeted.
View full review
Pros:
  • Have some very good doctors
Cons:
  • Place liability over patient care

Preferred solution: To get my pain free life back

User's recommendation: Avoid this Doctor if you value your Health .. perhaps Northwell too as I believe they sanctioned his treatment of me to remove any legal liability.

Insurance Expert Talks

Insurance Claims Tips: What Red Flags to Watch Out

Apr 23, 2021

Insurance claims, insurance fraud & why you might need a public adjuster. Watch our video interview with Vince Perri, CEO of Commercial Claims Show, get expert tips on how to file insurance claims and get the settlement.

Read full article
Vince Perri
Vince Perri

Vince Perri is a Expert Claims Adjuster and CEO of Commercial Claims Advocate. He has over 14 years of experience in handling large commercial losses and complex residential insurance claims.

Anjolaoluwa Bvu
map-marker Huntington Station, New York

CJR emails

Northwell Health - CJR emails
I am having a knee replaced at Huntington Hospital under Workers Comp. I am getting an inordinate number of emails sometimes only 20 minutes apart that are titled HIE alerts. There is nothing for me to do except read the attachments which I do but they are all the same and they keep coming every day the same thing over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again. I dont understand it. I dont understand it. I dont understand it. I dont understand it. There is something wrong with your system.
View full review
2 comments
Guest

0.00

Anjolaoluwa Bvu

I don’t understand the system. I have already written a comment.

I’m just trying to send it. Your system is extremely cumbersome and not user-friendly. I was simply trying to say that I am getting a knee replacement at Huntington Hospital, which is in your system in two weeks and I am getting an inordinate number of HIEAlert messages, dozens of times a day sometimes only 20 minutes apart. And I don’t understand it.

I read the same documents over and over and over and over and over again.

I don’t understand the purpose of this system. I sent a picture of a full page on a screenshot of messages.

View more comments (1)
Anonymous
map-marker Copiague, New York

My mom got murdered at Southside hospital the day she supposed to leave

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My mom went to the Southside hospital early this year for a checkup and never left, she was murdered, I was denied STD-HIV testing at Southside hospital and Brookhaven hospital along with CityMD
View full review

User's recommendation: Look for better hospitals

Susan S Jbi

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker New York, New York

Terrible communication

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Aug 29, 2023

The facility I went to at 41 east 8th st in nyc is inadequately staffed. Just one xray technician in Manhattan and I had a very long wait until he came to this "urgent" care center.

Only one of my doctors is affiliated with Northwell.

I have found that the others are easily able to share records with each other.

It is unnecessarily difficult to get reports to those of my doctors (all but one) who are not affiliated with Northwell. They are, instead affiliated with Weill Cornell, MT Sinai and NYU, All of these share records seamlessly and their patient portals are linked.. The Northwell affiliated facilities- Go Health and Lenox Hill Radiology- are very difficult to contact- and require me to go back to get these reports myself.

You have to go back to the specific facility and hope they will take care of it. Often you have to contact a distant office.

This applies to their urgent care facilities (Go Health) and to Lenox Hill Radiology. And contacting these facilities is unnecessarily complicated.

t has been unnecessarily difficult to get reports to those of my doctors (all but one) who are not affiliated with Northwell.

They are, instead affiliated with Weill Cornell, My Sinai and NYU, All of these share records seamlessly. The Northwell affiliated facilities- Go Health and Lenox Hill Radiology- are very difficult to contact- and require me to go back to get these reports myself.

View full review

User's recommendation: look for alternatives

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article